Breakfast Rolls

Today I have made the most delicious brown bread rolls for breakfast. They’re soft and melt in the mouth in the centre, a little crispy on the outside and golden on the top. Plus, now my house smells incredible.

I used a very basic recipe adapted from one by The Hairy Bikers –
500g of strong brown flour
A 7g sachet of dried yeast
30g of soft butter
75ml of warm milk
225ml of warm water
A big sprinkle of salt
A drizzle of oil

In a glass bowl I used my fingers to combine the flour with the yeast sachet and salt. I kept the yeast on one side of the bowl and the salt on the other as mixing the two so early on could kill the yeast. Nightmare. Working as if the bowl was divided into two halves I rubbed the butter through the flour to make what looked like little breadcrumbs.
I used a measuring jug to warm the milk in the microwave and made it up to 300ml with the warm water. I added this in three stages, mixing well with the dough each time bringing it together in a fairly smooth ball ready to be kneaded on a lightly floured surface for about 10 minutes. Add some more flour if the dough is too wet and more water and milk if the dough is too dry. (The quantities above were pretty spot on for me).
Now for my favourite bit – I LOVE waiting for dough to prove. Yeast is so magical!
I put the kneaded dough ball into a clean bowl with a drizzle of oil and covered with cling film. I left it on top of my cool oven hob that had warm air from the lower oven circulating around it. It went from this
iPhone Post Italy 1275

To this about 90 minutes later
Proven

On a floured surface I knocked back the dough and divided it into 8 relatively even pieces (mine aren’t a good example of this) rounded them and flattened them into two rows of four on a lined baking tray.
Rolls
I left these to prove under a damp tea towel for a further 90 minutes before putting them into the oven. I baked for 25 minutes with a tray of water on the bottom shelf to give them a cripsy top.
Absolutely delicious served warm with butter and a cup of tea.
Baked Roll and Butter

Leave a Reply

