Hooray! I’m the square bake champion!

A couple of weeks ago I tagged my glorious chocolate velvet cake, layered up with cream cheese frosting, honeycomb and dark chocolate drizzles with Lurpak butters’ hashtag #BakeClub. And today they told me that I’d won the square bake competition of the month! HOORAY!!
Here it is in all it’s glory, probably the best chocolate cake ever –
photo
And now I’m going to get a hamper jam packed with Sous Chef goodies!! Which just so happens to be my new favourite website… http://www.souschef.co.uk/
For the cake I used:
225g of unsalted butter
280g of plain flour
280g of caster sugar
50g of cornflour
50g of cocoa powder
250ml of buttermilk (or natural yoghurt)
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1 and a half teaspoons of baking powder
3 large eggs
4 tablespoons of water

To make the cake yourself, gently heat the butter, water and cocoa powder until just melted. Whilst leaving the butter mix to cool beat together the eggs, buttermilk or natural yoghurt and vanilla until frothy before pouring in the cooled butter mix and continuing to combine.
Following that into the bowl goes the flour, cornflour, baking powder and caster sugar.
Once everything is combined and the batter is looking thick and glossy, pour into a well greased 7 inch square tin (or circle or heart equivalent) and bake for about 35 minutes in a preheated oven at 180c. Turn out and leave to cool before smothering with your favourite frosting and toppings. I smashed up a yummy crunchie bar and made some dark chocolate drizzles to go on top of my
Frosty Top Frosting.
Oooh it’s a dense one. A sharp knife and a cup of tea is essential.

2 thoughts on “Hooray! I’m the square bake champion!

Leave a Reply

